Skip to main content

7/8 Guide to the Information Resource Center: Check out our books!

How you research matters!

New Books!

The Arm of the Starfish

Characters from Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time Quintet and Austin Family Chronicles cross paths in this story that explore the timeless themes of love, chance, and destiny.

Leviathan Wakes

The first novel in the epic, New York Times bestselling series the Expanse, a modern masterwork of science fiction where humanity has colonized the solar system. Two hundred years after migrating into space, mankind is in turmoil. When a reluctant ship's captain and washed-up detective find themselves involved in the case of a missing girl, what they discover brings our solar system to the brink of civil war, and exposes the greatest conspiracy in human history.

Nightmares!

Nightmares!, the first book in a trilogy about a boy named Charlie and a group of kids who must face their fears to save their town.   Sleeping has never been so scary. And now waking up is even worse!   Charlie Laird has several problems.   1. His dad married a woman he is sure moonlights as a witch. 2. He had to move into her purple mansion, which is NOT a place you want to find yourself after dark. 3.He can't remember the last time sleeping wasn't a nightmarish prospect. Like even a nap.  

The Sleepwalker Tonic

You thought the nightmares were over? You better keep the lights on!   Charlie Laird has a dream life.   1) He has a weirdo stepmom who runs an herbarium. 2) He lives in a purple mansion with a portal to the Netherworld. 3) Since they escaped from the Netherworld, he and his best friends have been sleeping like babies.   But Charlie can't shake the feeling that something strange is afoot.

The Lost Lullaby

The third book in the hilariously scary Nightmares! series.

Wires and Nerve

The second graphic novel, and sequel toWires and Nerve. "Iko, an audacious android and best friend to the Lunar Queen Cinder, has been tasked with hunting down Alpha Lysander Steele, the leader of a rogue band of bioengineered wolf-soldiers who threaten to undo the tenuous peace agreement between Earth and Luna"

Minecraft: The Island

The first official Minecraft novel! In the tradition of iconic adventures like Robinson Crusoe and Treasure Island, the author of World War Z tells the story of a hero--stranded in the world of Minecraft--who must unravel the secrets of a mysterious island in order to survive.

The Silver Mask

A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what no magician had ever achieved: the ability to bring back the dead. He didn't succeed . . . but he did find a way to keep himself alive, inside a young child named Callum Hunt.

The Copper Gauntlet

Callum Hunt's summer break isn't like other kids'. His closest companion is a Chaos-ridden wolf, Havoc. His father suspects him of being secretly evil. And, of course, most kids aren't heading back to the magical world of the Magisterium in the fall.  

The Bronze Key

The third installment in this New York Times bestselling series will defy what you think you know about the worlds of good and evil.

Otherworld Chronicles #2: The Seven Swords

Otherworld Chronicles: The Seven Swords

"Twelve-year-old Artie Kingfisher has only ten days to gather a team of knights to wield the mythical seven swords, or his mission to save the Otherworld and claim his throne as King Arthur will be lost"--Provided by publisher.

Otherworld Chronicles #3: The Dragon King

Otherworld Chronicles #3: The Dragon King

"Artie Kingfisher's quest to claim his throne as King Arthur reborn approaches its end as he reaches the mythical isle of Avalon, sets off in search of the Holy Grail, and prepares to face off in battle agains the wizard Merlin"--Provided by publisher.

Otherworld Chronicles #1: The Invisible Tower

Otherworld Chronicles: The Invisible Tower

A twelve-year-old boy learns that he is actually King Arthur brought back to life in the twenty-first century--and that the fate of the universe rests in his hands.

Scythe

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery: humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now Scythes are the only ones who can end life and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control. Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe, a role that neither wants. These teens must master the "art" of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

Thunderhead

Rowan and Citra take opposite stances on the morality of the Scythedom, putting them at odds, in the chilling sequel to the Printz Honor Book Scythe from New York Times bestseller Neal Shusterman, author of the Unwind dystology. The Thunderhead cannot interfere in the affairs of the Scythedom. All it can do is observe--it does not like what it sees. A year has passed since Rowan had gone off grid. 

Insignia

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."

Vortex

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.

Catalyst

"Tom Raines and his friends return to the Spire for their third year as superhuman government weapons, but the rules have been changed and Tom's training is put to the test"--Provided by publisher.

The List

You are The Wordsmith now. Are you ready for the challenge? The city of Ark is the last safe place on Earth. To make sure humans are able to survive, everyone in Ark must speak List, a language of only 500 words. Everyone that is, except Letta. As apprentice to the Wordsmith, Letta can read all the words that have ever existed. Forbidden words like freedom, music, and even pineapple tell her about a world she's never known.

The Harlem Hellfighters

The riveting story of the highly decorated, barrier-breaking, historic black regiment--the Harlem Hellfighters In 1919, the 369th infantry regiment marched home triumphantly from World War I. They had spent more time in combat than any other American unit, never losing a foot of ground to the enemy, or a man to capture, and winning countless decorations.

The Rise of Aurora West

The extraordinary world introduced in Paul Pope'sBattling Boy is rife with monsters and short on heroes... but in this action-driven extension of theBattling Boy universe, we see it through a new pair of eyes: Aurora West, daughter of Arcopolis's last great hero, Haggard West.

Deep Blue

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil.

Girl Code

A New York Public Library Best Book of 2017 Perfect for aspiring coders everywhere, Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, teamed up to create a viral video game, and ended up becoming world famous.

From Norvelt to Nowhere

This rocket-paced follow-up to the Newbery Medal-winning novelDead End in Norvelt opens deep in the shadow of the Cuban missile crisis. But instead of Russian warheads, other kinds of trouble are raining down on young Jack Gantos and his utopian town of Norvelt in western Pennsylvania.

I Kill Giants

I Kill Giants tells the story of Barbara Thorson, an acerbic fifth-grader so consumed with fantasy that she doesn't just tell people that she kills giants with an ancient Norse war hammer -- she starts to believe it herself. The reasons for Barbara's troubled behavior are revealed through the course of the book, as she learns to reconcile her fantasy life with the real world.

Awkward

Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids. Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

The Book That Made Me

What if you could look inside your favorite authors' heads and see the book that led them to become who they are today? What was the book that made them fall in love, or made them understand something for the first time? What was the book that made them feel challenged in ways they never knew they could be, emotionally, intellectually, or politically? What book made them readers, or made them writers, or made them laugh, think, or cry?

The Glass Sentence

She has only seen the world through maps. She had no idea they were so dangerous.   Boston, 1891. Sophia Tims comes from a family of explorers and cartologers who, for generations, have been traveling and mapping the New World--a world changed by the Great Disruption of 1799, when all the continents were flung into different time periods.  

The Golden Specific

Thirteen-year-old Sophia Tims, with her friend Theo, continues to search for her parents, explorers who have vanished as the borders shift within a world transformed by the Great Disruption of 1799.

The Crimson Skew

"It is late August 1892, and Sophia Tims is coming home from a foreign Age, having risked her life in search of her missing parents. Now she is aboard ship, with a hard-earned, cryptic map that may help her find them at long last.

Books, books, books!

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Click on a button below the search bar NOT Enter!

Loading ...