Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.
Password: lchs After you click on the link above, use the search box under Tools on the right to find your topic.
Britannica Middle School: Listening tool!
So much better than Wikipedia. Britannica School articles are written for students.
Encyclopedia articles are generally not cited since they are background common knowledge. They help you get up to speed on your topic so you can then research more deeply with other sophisticated sources.
SIRS Discoverer: search for your specific topic here
A native of Missouri, Josephine Baker is remembered for her sultry and comedic stage routines that captivated audiences across the European continent as the Jazz Age unfolded in the United States. During World War II, however, the dancer and singer known as “Black Venus,” “Black Pearl,” or “Creole Goddess” performed a much more important role for her adopted country of France: that of undercover operative in the French Resistance.
PBS provides an accompanying website to their documentary on America and the Holocaust. Find special features, a timeline, an interactive map that depicts events from 1939 to 1945, primary documents and People and Events.
he online collection of George Hoshida (1907-1985) includes 260 drawings and watercolors drawn from his visual diary covering his incarceration for the duration of World War II in the Kilauea Military Camp and Sand Island in Hawai'i, in Justice Department internment camps at Lordsburg and Santa Fe, New Mexico, and in WRA camps in Jerome, Arkansas and Gila River, Arizona
The online collection of Clara Breed, or "Miss Breed" as she was known by her young library patrons, includes over 300 letters and cards received by Breed from Japanese American children and young adults during their World War II incarceration.
Includes sixty-three oil paintings painted by artist Hisako Hibi at Tanforan Assembly Center in California and Topaz concentration camp in Utah from 1942 to 1945. Subjects include various daily activities, still lifes, and landscapes.