New StudentsDigital turn-in using the school's network
Art, Art History, CraftsDrama, Literature and LanguageEtiquetteMoney & Personal FinanceTechnologyReadingDiversityLearn to Code
This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Welcome! This is our library!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome! This is our library!  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page

Britannica School: start your research here!

Britannica School

The username and password are the most common words we use for passwords.

The longer one is the username. the shorter one is the password.

Can't remember? Try your private password document.


Virtual Reference Library

Cite in NoodleTools as a Reference Source, eBook, leave Digital File Type blank.

Password is the one we use most often.


Student Resources in Context

Cite as an Database.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Donated by 7/8 PTA. Cite as a Database.

For academic sources


Destiny Search

Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search


Need pictures? Use Britannica ImageQuest. Images are NOT blocked by filter! You can create an account to store your images.

BIQ images are hign quality, totally reproducible  because they they work in any format.  You do need to cite the source of any image you use in your projects. Cite as an image from an online database.


EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection

This a new resource for LCHS. It contains 12,000 nonfiction academic books. They are fully searchable books. See the librarians for the username and password or check your IRC "Class of .... " page on this web site.

Academc Collection eBooks: nonfiction

netTrekker: from school

netTrekker is an educational search engine that can save you time finding good websites for school work.

If you use this link from school you will not need the username and password.  From home use longer common LCHS password for Username then the shorter one as Password.

Use other libraries!

Wireless is here!

Wifi access: Use the Guest network.

Do you need access to literary criticism for an advanced English class?

Go to the public library's databases from here. You will need your La Canada Public Library card number (on the back of the card). Hint: Store the number on an MBC doc and then copy and paste it as your password to get access to Literature Resource Center or Shakespseare for Students.

NetTrekker: Getting Started for Students


Wolfram Alpha Calculation Engine

As a La Canada High School student you can have access to a College Library

If you are doing an Independent Project and you need access to databases like Jstor get a PCC Statford Library card. You will need to present a current LCHS picture ID and fill out the form.

You will have borrowing privileges at the library. To use the databases you will have to visit the library but once there you will have full access and you can email yourself articles.


Are you researching a country?

CIA World Factbook

This is the most up-to-date information available.


Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy


Loading  Loading...